We hope to award the next Michael Ramsey Prize in 2016.
Please return to this site in January 2015 for more details.

All shortlisted authors with Rowan Williams

All shortlisted authors with Rowan Williams
(Left to right) Victor Lee Austin,   John Gillibrand, Thomas Yoder Neufeld, Paula Gooder, Michael Lodahl

Prize winner Luke Bretherton with Rowan Williams

Prize winner Luke Bretherton with Rowan Williams


The winner of the 2013 Michael Ramsey Prize for Theological Writing is Luke Bretherton for the book Christianity and Contemporary Politics.

Luke Bretherton received £10,000 and a beautiful mosaic plaque handmade by ceramicist Dee Hardwicke from the founder of the prize, Lord Williams of Oystermouth, former Archbishop of Canterbury.

The other authors who were shortlisted for the Prize were each presented with 1,000 and a handmade tile.

Awarding the 2013 prize - Photo gallery >>

More information on the prize >>

Full press release and prize winner photographs >>

Jane Williams chairs a discussion with 2013 Michael Ramsey Prize nominees Victor Lee Austin, Luke BrethertonJohn Gillibrand, Paula Gooder, Michael Lodahl and Thomas Yoder Neufeld.

Listen to a conversation about religion and imagery with the former Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams and  British art historian and museum director Neil Macgregor, introduced by Simon Kingston, General Secretary of SPCK.