Monday 19th February 2018

For immediate use

Nominations are open for the 10,000 2019 Michael Ramsey Prize for theological writing

Goals of the prize, how to nominate, previous winners

The Archbishop of Canterbury has opened nominations for the 2019 Michael Ramsey Prize. Coinciding with the Bloxham Festival of Faith & Literature, our first nominations were received from festival goers at the Festival bookshop this weekend.

The Prize, which recognises books that help the Church to think more deeply, act more wisely, and witness more effectively, is designed to celebrate the most promising contemporary theological writing from the global Church. Previous Prize winners include John Swinton for his book Dementia; Luke Bretherton for the book Christianity and Contemporary Politics; and Fr. Timothy Radcliffe OP for What is the point of being a Christian?

First launched in 2005, the Michael Ramsey Prize is awarded every three years.

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby, who presides over the Prize, said:

"I am looking forward to seeing the books that will be nominated and to exploring how they can help the Church in thinking more deeply, acting more wisely and witnessing more effectively to the glory of God.
"We are particularly eager for books that will help the Church to grow in the areas of my three ministry priorities: of prayer and religious life, of reconciliation, and of evangelism and witness.
"If you have read a book which meets these criteria and you could recommend enthusiastically, published between 1 January 2015 and 31 December 2017, I warmly encourage you to make a nomination."

The Prize

The winner of the £10,000 prize will be announced at the Greenbelt Festival in August 2019. The winner will receive an award of £10,000. Shortlisted authors are awarded £1,000 each.

The goals of the Prize are to:


Nominations for the prize can be made online at or by writing to the Michael Ramsey Prize Coordinator, SPCK Publishing, 36 Causton Street, London, SW1P 4ST with details of the book you are nominating and how you think it meets the goals.

Nominations are open until 30 April 2018.

The shortlist, and the panel of judges, will be announced in Spring 2019. The judges will meet to decide the winner shortly before the Award Ceremony at the Greenbelt Festival 23-26 August 2019.


The Award, which is sponsored by the Lambeth Fund and administered by SPCK, was inaugurated by Archbishop of Canterbury Dr Rowan Williams in 2005 to encourage the most promising contemporary theological writing and to identify it for a wider Christian readership.

The Prize, which is awarded every three years, commemorates Dr Ramsey, who was Archbishop of Canterbury 1961-1974, and his commitment to increasing the breadth of theological understanding among the Christian, and non-Christian, population at large.

The winner of the 2016 Michael Ramsey Prize for Theological Writing was John Swinton for the book Dementia.

In 2013 the winner was Luke Bretherton for the book Christianity and Contemporary Politics.

In 2011, the winner of the prize was Atheist Delusions by David Bentley Hart. Professor Richard Bauckham's work Jesus and the Eyewitnesses won the prize in 2009. The winner of the 2007 prize was What is the point of being a Christian? by Fr Timothy Radcliffe OP, ex-Master of the worldwide Dominican Order of Friars Preachers. The 2005 prize was won by Bishop Tom Wright's work The Resurrection of the Son of God (SPCK), a book exploring the resurrection of Jesus in the light of ancient pagan, Jewish and Christian beliefs on death and resurrection.

More information is available at


General and media enquiries about the Michael Ramsey Prize should be sent to or phone Victoria Ireland on 07749 712379